Rascal Flatts covers Shenandoah’s “Next To You, Next To Me”

Really? A song this good didn’t need to be resurrected nor did the premiere boy band of country music have to do it. They manage to keep the effortless breeze of the original intact, but overall bring nothing new to a song that should’ve been left as is. If anything they make it more pop, which it doesn’t need. And those harmonies at the beginning? Nothing short of cringe-worthy.

If this is their attempt to be country again, than count me out. Pandering to 90s nostalgia isn’t going to make me turn my head, jump for joy, and declare country music healthy again. The year of the apocalypse is taking country music with it.

If you need me, I’ll be listening to the correct way to sing this song:

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Rascal Flatts covers Shenandoah’s “Next To You, Next To Me””

  1. bob Says:

    Not my favorite Shenandoah song but I’ll take Marty Raybon’s vocals over Gary Levox any day.

  2. Ben Foster Says:

    Eh. It’s not as good as the original, but it’s not horrible, so I don’t really mind that they re-did it. If anything, I would consider it an unusual display of good taste on their part.

  3. Jonathan Pappalardo Says:

    Thanks! Yes, Bob, I’ll take Marty’s vocals any day, too. I have soft spots for most of their singles and I’ve really been loving “Sunday In The South” lately. And who can dislike “Somewhere In The Vicinity Of The Heart” when Alison Krauss is the duet partner?

    Ben – You’re right, they could’ve done far worse. But I have a hard time when an artist from today tries to act cool by covering a 90s country song, the era when most radio singles were actually in good taste. Instead they should’ve found an original song that conveys the same flavor. That would’ve made me respect their choices more. Honor the era without pandering to it.

    But at least they chose to cover a previous country hit opposed to dragging out some pop song like “Lover, Lover” or “Come Home.” May others follow suit if this begins a new trend.

  4. Ben Foster Says:

    Yes, I would be happy to see this become a trend, as there are plenty of great nineties hits that are worth reviving. Plus it would be nice to see country artists taking their cues from the country music of the nineties instead of the arena rock of the eighties.

Leave a Reply

