My technology gap…

I have a confession to make. More and more I am noticing a personal technology gap. The world is moving at a faster pace than even I can keep up with anymore. I’m 22 and I still cling to my e-mail inbox sitting on the desktop of my computer. I feel like a whole world is passing me by because I don’t text or have my whole world directly on my phone. In fact, and this is the saddest part, at 22 I have never owned nor operated a smart phone. It’s crazy since I majored in communications in college.

I don’t have a resistance to the technology, I just don’t know anything about it. I always thought it was strange when people would have Blackberrys for personal use because I aways associated them with people who have important jobs. Why would someone need a Blackberry if they’re just a college student? It’s hitting me, that isn’t them…it really is me. What I’m trying to figure out is when the whole world zoomed by and left me in the gutter. Now I feel like my whole way of communicating has become obsolete.

I’ve even got to thinking a little about this blog. Is having a blog too old fashioned in this day and age? Are people really going to take the time to read what I’ve posted or is it another example of my backwards thinking? Don’t worry, I’m not going to stop blogging. I don’t care if it’s as antiquated as film cameras…I would never stop my creative outlet. Plus, everyone tells you, when you’re in my field, to blog, blog, blog. Thank goodness it’s something I really love to do.

But I just feel like technological advances are moving at warp speed. Why buy something today, if a better version is due out tomorrow? I’ve been wrestling with that for years. In an instant the DVD replaced the VHS and now the Blueray disc has replaced the DVD. High def used to be the cool in thing and now it’s 3-D. I cannot keep up anymore.

But, for my sanity, I have to. The world is changing and I have to roll with the punches so I’m not left out in the cold. I want to be hip and current. I want to feel like I’m with the in crowd and not back in 2004 with my dinky cell-phone where the only cool thing it does is either take a picture or make a call.

I need to get with the 21st century. This I am learning more and more. I’m done being that person who is so behind. I don’t know what is so scary about embracing modern technology. Is it really that bad to be one of those people addicted to their phone? Maybe, they’re the ones who are right.

So as I move closer to landing that first job and embracing what life is going to be like at 23 years old, I’m going to do my best to get hip. I can’t afford not to.

Leave a Reply

